Type of Meeting: Budget Hearing

Date: May 13, 2008

Place: High School Dining Room

Members Present: President William Peoples, Jr., Trustees, Lucinda Sutton, Michelle Terwilliger, Brian

Herrington, Michael Knapp

Members Excused: Amanda Stuart, Brian Crane

Others: Superintendent of Schools Betsy Stiker, Board Clerk Mary Berkan, Elementary Principal

Deborah Flint, High School Principal Joe DioGuardi, Middle School Principal William

Howe and Business Administrator Patrice Beadle.

Guests: Sheri Morse, Bob Johnson, Donald Stiker

President Peoples called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. and led the group in the Pledge of allegiance after the emergency procedure was reviewed and everyone welcomed to the meeting.

To Order

President Peoples asked the District Clerk to read the Notice of Meeting and Proposition.

Reading of Meeting Notice

Mrs. Stiker then read a report from the Director of the Public Library Karen Parsons. It was noted that the library received 2 grants this year, one from the State for updating the electricity and one from the Gates Foundation for new computers. The money received from the taxpayers is used for the daily running of the library and allows them to keep the collection updated. The library has four elementary school groups that come to the library every other week for story times and two after school programs for elementary students, as well as a summer Reading Program. The library is open 25 hours a week and has two paid part-time employees, as well as a part time cleaner; all other staff members are volunteers.

Library Report

The Superintendent asked if the three guests if they would like to have the proposed budget reviewed again (they all had previously attended the budget meetings) and no one did. Mrs. Stiker did, however, show a video highlight of what the school district is all about – preparing students for the future.

Budget Review

No one wished to be recognized during the public forum regarding the budget.

Public Forum

President McBride then read the names of the Inspectors of Election:

Election Officials

Mary Crane Lucille Schultz
Joanne Bartholomew Judy Dove
Gary Powers Christine Sproule
Jewel Hayes Debra Beaver
Helen Terwilliger Vera Eaker
David Stutzman – Custodian
Harold F. Hall - Chairperson

Amy Grant Richard Dove Joann Holden Kathryn Miller Budget Hearing Meeting May 8, 2007 Page 2

President McBride then introduced the Board candidates that were present – Trustee Brian Herrington. Mr. Weale was not in attendance.

Introduction of Board Candidates

Trustee Terwilliger made a motion then to adjourn and Trustee Knapp seconded the motion. Motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 6:15p.m.

Adjournment

Respectfully Submitted

Mary L. Berkan, Clerk